In 1994, Minneapolis Public Schools put a program in place known as Site-Based Decision Making in an effort to move decision making closer to the students in order to improve student achievement.  Each school in the district has a Site Council (comprised of both parents and school staff) which meets monthly to make decisions and discuss long-range program goals for the school. These councils are also charged with examining everything that might be standing in the way of student achievement.

Windom’s Site Council is a group of staff members, parents, and community members who work on the long-range vision and planning for the school. Everyone is welcome to attend the council’s meetings.  The mission of the Windom’s Site Council is to provide an opportunity for representative school staff and community to work collaboratively providing direction that will enhance student achievement and on-going growth.

 

Site Council meetings will take place every third Tuesday from 4:30-5:30 in the Media Center (Please look at PTO meeting dates since, the PTO and Site Council meetings are held the same day).

 

Our Site Council consists of the following members:

  • Principal 
  • Family Liaison
  • 5-6 Parents
  • 5 Other Staff Members (teachers, specialists, union representaive, special education, etc.)

Here is a list of site council participants for the 2013-2014 school year:

Principal: Jim Clark, 612.866.3371, James.Clark@mpls.k12.mn.us
 
Staff:

  1. Family Liaison: Jenedee Canino, Jenedee.Canino@mpls.k12.mn.us
  2. Grades K-1: 
  3. Grades 2-3: Victoria Murray (Site Council Co-Chair), Victoria.Murray@mpls.k12.mn.us
  4. Grades 4-5:  Jason Schnobrich, Jason.Schnobrich@mpls.k12.mn.us
  5. Specialist/Support Staff: J Blanca Raniolo, Blanca.Raniolo@mpls.k12.mn.us
  6. Staff At-Large: Jim Clark, 651-214-1252,  James.Clark@mpls.k12.mn.us
  7. MFT 59 Union Rep: Tim Leach, 612.668.9138,  Timothy.Leach@mpls.k12.mn.us

Parents:

  1. PTO Co-Chairs:  Stacy McGrath sbmcgrath@gmail.comand Keidy Lora-Palusky, keidylora@yahoo.com
  2. (Site Council Co-Chair), 
  3. Kristin Young kyoung.020@gmail.com
  4. Stephanie Bender sbender2009@gmail.com
  5. Joshua Sillers sillers@gmail.com 

 

Community:

  1. Windom Community Member: TBD

For those interested in being on the Windom site council in the future, the requirements for serving are as follows:

  1. MUST be available to meet from 4:30 to 6:00 on the third Tuesday of every month (from September to June).
  2. Ideally be willing to serve for a period of (2) years. There is a learning curve and generally, it does take a year or so to get up to speed on all the "school jargon".
  3. Have a specific interest in budget/finance, marketing, retention and recruitment of families, and a general interest in how the school and district works.
  4. Have good listening skills but also be willing to speak up, ask questions, offer opinions and learn.
  5. Have an ability to look at the bigger picture, a willingness to see the other side of things and a desire to do what is best for ALL of the children in our school.

For more information on Site Council or if you are interested in serving, feel free to contact any of the current members or Principal Lucilla Yira. Historically, the parent group has been comprised of those who have expressed a desire to serve, but should there be more candidates than available positions in any given year, an election will be held.

In This Section